11. It’s Tuesday Night!

It’s Tuesday, and that means one thing.  King Weekly Series race.  I know I already wrote about the King Weekly Series a few weeks ago, but I want to write about it again because something really awesome happened in the last week.  Ted Anderton (King of Photography, and the man who is responsible for most of the awesome shots on this blog) and Dan Marshall (King of Substance Projects and General Coolness) shared my blog on their Facebook pages.

BOOM!

Aside from being awesome and cool that people (okay, only two people) liked my writing enough to share it with other people, it was sweet to watch the power of the internet take over.  Within a few hours of sharing the Team Colin Blog (hey, that’s me), traffic to the blog went from the usual 2 or 3 visitors a day, to about a hundred visitors.

WordPress even sent me a message saying that my page was “Booming”.  Honest, they totally used that word.

I don’t know if people will return to the blog, but for anyone who does, I’m going to give some advice. Many riders already know it, but if I can encourage just one person, I’ll feel even more chuffed than I usually do (which is a lot because I am always chuffed).   My advice is this:  DO A WEEKLY SERIES.  Holycowtheyareawesome.  Like I said a few weeks ago, and like anybody who works regular day hours knows, a weeknight ride is a stolen ride.  It’s stolen from laundry time, watching tv time, cleaning time, errand time, and the list goes on.  But all those things can wait.

Riding cannot wait.  And weekly series races are so much fun.  Great people, relaxed and chill atmosphere, fast and furious courses, and soooo good for the body.  I did a bunch of King Series races last summer, and one Thursday night race in Durham Forest, and each time, I felt invigorated and renewed for the work week.  This summer, I’m going to try to make it to the other two series:  Coulson Hill on Wednesday, and Hardwood Hills on Thursday night.  I might even bust out three the same week.

Honestly, with three weeknight of races to choose from, there is never an excuse to be tired and cranky after work.

Wash the clothes on Monday night.  Pick up some groceries on the way home from work on Friday.  Clean under the fridge on Sunday evening.

Do a weekly series race on one of the other nights.  Or maybe even two or three of the other nights…

You’ll feel better, connect with other riders, and support a local bike shop or race organizer.

That is all.

Ride.

Leave a Reply

