20. My Second 100k

Team Colin is officially registered for the Kawartha Lakes Classic 100k ROAD RACE! Yep, a road race. It’ll be my first road race, and it’ll be awesome. “Hey Colin, you ride a MTB, why a road race?” you may be asking. Well, there’s a race, it’s on the road, and I have a road bike. That’s why. Plus, you know that Christmas morning feeling you had when you were a kid…before you opened your gifts…when all you really want is the Millennium Falcon…and you’re nervous, and excited, and anxious, and kind of scared… Yeah, that feeling. I’ve got it right now, and I’ll have episodes of it until Sunday morning at 8:00AM, and it is spectacular.  (EDIT:  I THOUGHT THE RACE WAS ON SUNDAY, AND EVEN READ THE CONFIRMATION EMAIL, BUT MY RIDING BUDDY–WHO IS GOING TO RACE WITH ME–LET ME KNOW IT’S A DAY EARLIER, ON SATURDAY.  THANK YOU TEAM COLIN)

And if that isn’t enough, proceeds from the race help a local charity that supports men, women,and families in the area who need emergency shelter.  You can donate here:A Place Called Home

Boy, what an awesome last week or so.  The Team Colin blog had well over 100 visitors (and my various posts had waaaay over 200 views).  People seemed to honestly like “Graduation” (Riding Feels Good even shared the post.  Natch), and Apex Photogaphy snapped a super sweet photo of me at the Eager Beaver.  I usually look like, well, me, on a bike (way too much compression, bulging, and general flabbiness for me to hide, all accentuated by spandex) but they work photographic magic.  Seriously, my mom didn’t even recognize me.  Damn, I like that picture.

And it gets better…

On the weekend, I had a sweet ride in Durham Forest with my buddy John, while my family rode the double track.

On Tuesday, I raced the King Weekly Series–always sweet.

On Monday, I was invited to the Joyride 150 staff ride in Durham Forest next Tuesday. SOFRIGGINAWESOME!

And five minutes ago, I registered for my first road race, which will be my second metric century. Boom.

I’m also getting ready my most favourite, my least favourite (and hardest, and awesomest, and horriblest) race of the season: The Kingston Marathon Trophy.  It’s the fourth and final race in the Substance Projects XCM.  Seriously, I have a serious love-hate relationship with this race.  Serious love and equally serious hate.  It’s tough, it’s always hot, and it’s tough.  Dan Marshall asked if I wanted to pre-ride the course today (so he could do some last minute adjustments and such) but family commitments have got the better of me.

But there’ll be plenty of time to ride in the next little while.  Team Colin has a busy fall, and September is chock full of awesome rides and races. Here is the Riding Month At A Glance (I want to do all of them, but will most likely only do 3 or 4):

  • September 3:  Kingston Marathon Trophy (MTB, Substance Projects XCM Race #4). Here’s a link to the website:  Kingston XCM
  • September 10:  Bike Up Northumberland (a road race in Brighton to support Campbellford Hospital–hey my mom lives there). Here’s a link to the website:  Bike Up Northumberland
  • September 10:  Kelso MTB Fondo. Here’s a link to the website: Kelso MTB Fondo
  • September 11:  Forest Lea Enduro.  Here’s a link to the website:  Forest Lea Enduro
  • September 11:  O Cup at Sir Sam’s.  Here’s a link to the website:  Sir Sam’s O-Cup
  • September 17:  The Great Albion Enduro.  Here’s a link to the website:  The Great Albion Enduro
  • September 24:  Fall Epic 8 Hour at Hardwood Hills.  Here’s a link to the website:  Epic 8 Hour

Okay, it’s Two Riding Months At A Glance.

  • October 1:  Hastings Hilly Hundred (road race)  Here’s a link to the website:  Hilly Hundred
  • October 2:  Exhale MTB Race (at Fanshawe).  Here’s a link to the website:  Exhale MTB Race
  • October 15:  Sausage Suit TT (Substance Projects).  Here’s a link to the website:  Sausage Suit
  • October 30:  Overdrive Race Series.  Here’s a link to the website:  Overdrive

Number of races in the fall:  a bunch

Number of reasons to not ride in the fall:  zero.

Whether it’s a ride or a race, Team Colin is going to give it 100%.  Except this Sunday.  This Sunday, I’m going to give it 100K.  (OOPS.  THIS SATURDAY.  THANKS JOHN)

Ride

 

PS

September 3 is not just the date of the last and coolest XCM of the season, it’s also my wife’s cousin’s daughter’s wedding.  Some how, I’ve got to compete in a super tough 40k mountain bike race in Kingston in the morning, and then drive to Niagara-On-The-Lake for dinner.  I’m going to ask the laws of time, distance, and pretty much all things related to physics, to suspend for the day.

MORE PS

I think I have a problem.  I’ve been looking at that list above.  I really really really want to do most of the races…

Leave a Reply

